Curriculum, Teaching and Learning (CTL)

Office Location

MSc (2005) University of Oxford, UK


Office Telephone Number

Research Interests
Curriculum Design, Differentiated Instruction, Student Voices, Teacher Professional Developement, English Language Teaching

  • Prior to joining CTL, Lucy Fernandez taught both at the primary and secondary levels, as well as serving as HOD of the Science department at the primary level and subsequently as Subject Head of Innovative Pedagogy at the secondary level. She obtained her BA (Hons) from the University of Otago, New Zealand (English and English Literature) and her MSc in Applied Linguistics and Second Language Acquisition from the University of Oxford, UK, including an ELT certification from Oxford. In her different roles in school, Lucy spear-headed many initiatives and programmes. This included the introduction of the Passion Portfolio and the Interest Electives to cater to the diverse needs and interest of students, as well as involvement in curriculum innovation projects such the integration of English Language and English Literature within the school curriculum. In addition, Lucy was also very involved in the professional development of teachers in areas such as Project Work, Problem-Based Learning and Lesson Study. At the school level, she was given the Inspiring Teacher Award. In 2009, she was conferred the President’s Award for Teachers, at the national level. At CTL, Lucy continues to be involved in teacher education as well as the professional development of teachers, particularly in the areas of curriculum theory, practice and design as well as differentiated Instruction. In addition to these, Lucy has an interest in the area of student voice. Besides teaching at both the undergraduate and post-graduate levels, Lucy teaches across a wide range of courses including the Management and Leadership in Schools (MLS), Teacher Leader Programs 1 & 2, and professional development courses both at NIE and in schools. In 2012 & 2016 she was awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award from NIE. In 2017, she was awarded the prestigious Nanyang Education Award.

    • President’s Award for Teachers, 2009
    • NIE Excellence in Teaching Award, 2012