Sport Science

Biomechanics

The research team at PESS conducts sports biomechanics and human movement research from both experimental and theoretical modelling approaches. Our current studies include gymnastics, volleyball, jumping, landing, foot and footwear, gait, massage, muscle visco-elastic properties, strength training and rehabilitation. We are collaborating with various partners including hospitals, schools and sporting organisations. In addition, we conduct research mentorships for students attending Secondary Schools, Junior Colleges, Polytechnics, as well as for those in the MOE Gifted Education Branch Science Mentorship Programme and the Nanyang Research Programme.

For more details, click here to visit Sports Biomechanics laboratory website.

Researchers:

Ast/P Kong Pui Wah Veni

puiwah.kong@nie.edu.sg

Ast/P Tiago Barbosa

tiago.barbosa@nie.edu.sg

Dr Tan Cher Chay John

john.tan@nie.edu.sg


Exercise Physiology

The research team focus at PESS is multi-faceted. Human factor and performance studies look at physiological & metabolic indicators of high intensity intermittent exercise of elite athletes, as well as large-scale healthy lifestyle projects at population level and kinanthropometry projects at national and international levels. Also investigated are the physiology, biochemistry and genetic aspects of metabolism, nutritional medicine, immunology & cognitive function in various exercise states and diseases, involving obese individuals, patients with kidney disease and cardiac patients. The research team also develops textbooks and software applications for different education and research purposes in health education, paediatric physiology and coaching, clinical science, body composition and nutrition.

Researchers:

Prof Chia Yong Hwa Michael

michael.chia@nie.edu.sg

A/P G Balasekaran

govindasamy.b@nie.edu.sg

Ast/P Stephen Burns

stephen.burns@nie.edu.sg

Ast/P Swarup Mukherjee

swarup.mukherjee@nie.edu.sg

Ast/P Yang Yifan

yifan.yang@nie.edu.sg

Ms Thor Dianna

dianna.thor@nie.edu.sg

Dr Saravana Pillai Arjunan

 saravana.a@nie.edu.sg


Motor Control

Studies in motor-control are currently investigating: 1) the association between quadriceps muscle weakness and acute/chronic injuries in the knee joint as well as 2) the role of nonlinear pedagogy in the acquisition of skills in the context of physical education and sports. For the former research, force distribution patterns, coordination patterns of three leg joints' angles, and EMG patterns on leg muscles are being measured and analyzed during landing in relation to quadriceps muscle strength. For the latter research, a multi-articular lower limb interceptive task, soccer chip, is being used to investigate changes in coordination as a consequence of the interaction between key task, performer and environmental constraints.

Researchers:

A/P Chow Jia Yi

jiayi.chow@nie.edu.sg

A/P Teo-Koh Sock Miang

sockmiang.teo@nie.edu.sg

Ast/P Kee Ying Hwa Adrian

yinghwa.kee@nie.edu.sg