Caring Teacher Awards 2010

Caring Teacher Awards 2010

Thursday, 08 April 2010

Three exemplary teachers will receive the National Award of the Caring Teacher Awards (CTA) 2010 from Ms Grace Fu, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of National Development and Ministry of Education on Thursday, 8 April 2010.

They are:

  1. Mrs Rosiah Giri, Da Qiao Primary School;
  2. Mr Chan Kar Hong, Kent Ridge Secondary School; and
  3. Mdm June Wong Kwai Yeok, National Junior College

There will also be 12 teachers receiving the National Commendation Award during the CTA 2010 ceremony. More information on the award recipients and programme are in Annexe A and B respectively.

This biennial award recognises the commitment of these dedicated teachers towards the holistic development of their students. They have played multiple roles of an educator, nurturer and mentor to their students in demonstrating inspiring passion, innovation and dedication in teaching.

CTA 2010 is jointly organised by the National Institute of Education (NIE), Singapore and ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd, with support from the Ministry of Education, Singapore. The award was first given out in 1996 and it is aimed at acknowledging and rewarding those teachers in our schools who, through their daily deeds and actions, exemplify the values of caring, sharing and concern for the academic, moral, social, emotional and mental welfare of their students.

There are two categories for the CTA award – School Level and National Level. School Level winners are selected by the schools, which can have up to a maximum of five winners per school. Each school will then nominate one of the School Level winners for the National Award.

NIE received more than 2,000 nomination forms from 161 schools who nominated teachers for the CTA 2010 National Level Awards. A total of 175 schools, including those schools which only entered into the School Level awards, participated in CTA 2010.

A judging panel, chaired by Associate Professor Nick Aplin, went through the nominations submitted by schools and selected the National Award and Commendation winners. The members of the panel are listed in Annexe C.

Annexe A

Caring Teacher Awards (CTA) 2010 – National Award Winners

Primary School Level

Mrs Rosiah Giri
Da Qiao Primary School

Every child matters. This has always been and will always be Mrs Rosiah Giri’s belief and guiding principle in the teaching profession, in helping and guiding her young charges. Mrs Rosiah Giri is a Senior Teacher in Da Qiao Primary School and has been teaching in the school since 1996.

Mrs Giri feels that children need a lot of support and being there for them can make a difference in their lives, especially those who are emotionally disadvantaged or lack adult role models. She realises that by recognising and acknowledging her pupils’ strengths, she is giving them the affirmation that they seldom receive which will spur the students on. This teacher believes in never giving up on her students.

Secondary School Level

Mr Chan Kar Hong
Kent Ridge Secondary School

Mr Chan Kar Hong has been a teacher at Kent Ridge Secondary School since 2003. He often goes the extra mile for his students particularly in the provision of pastoral care.  His belief in providing a holistic education for his pupils through the inculcation of values is manifested in the time and effort he expands in counselling pupils, in particular those from low social economic background and those who are in need of extra attention. While Mr Chan constantly imparts to his students the virtue of caring for the less fortunate, he also reminds them to pay constant attention to their own needs by confronting their personal challenges with courage and resilience so as to hasten their own development into individuals and citizens of sterling character.

Junior College Level

Mdm June Wong Kwai Yeok
National Junior College

Mdm Wong Kwai Yeok, more fondly known as Mrs June Fong to her students, epitomizes care in a holistic way. Caring comes naturally to her. However, some things which she deems as second nature to her and nothing laudable, are the very gestures that set her apart from others. She admits that she does consciously reach out to the wide range of students that she teaches, in a way that is appropriate and effective. She does this in collaboration with other teachers, parents, school counselors and even selected students.

She is living testimony to the adage that caring, is nurturing the character.

National Commendation Award Recipients
  • Ms Low Miow Noi, Nanyang Primary School
  • Ms Evelyn Chiam, Ngee Ann Primary School
  • Mdm Belinda Hoe Quee Hiang, Telok Kurau Primary School
  • Mdm Noor Azleen Binte Sarbini, West View Primary School
  • Mrs Serpojan Singh,Yumin Primary School
  • Mrs Soonam Suneeth, Balestier Hill Secondary School
  • Mr Melvin Kong Kok Heng, Chua Chu Kang Secondary School
  • Mrs Sheila Philip, Commonwealth Secondary School
  • Ms Pamela Seet Siew Lin, Pei Hwa Secondary School
  • Mrs Toh-Lim Wei Ling, Ping Yi Secondary School
  • Mr Soong Chin Siang, Woodlands Ring Secondary School
  • Ms Karen Au Yee Kuan, Serangoon Junior College

Annexe B


2.15pm Guests to be seated
2.25pm       Arrival of Guest-of-Honour
2.35pm Welcome Address by Professor Lee Sing Kong
Director, National Institute of Education
2.45pm       Address by Mr Loh Pin Chuan
Public & Government Affairs Manager
ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd
2.55pm Address by Guest-of-Honour
Ms Grace Fu
Senior Minister of State
Ministry of National Development and Ministry of Education
3.05pm       Award Ceremony
Speeches by CTA 2010 National Award winners
4.00pm Reception
4.30pm End of programme


Annexe C

Judging Panel for CTA 2010


Dr Nick Aplin
Associate Professor
Physical Education & Sports Science, NIE


Ms Selene Chan
Community Relations and Singapore Refinery Advisor
Public & Government Affairs
ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd

Dr Cheah Horn Mun
Director, Education Technology
Ministry of Education

Mr Ivan Fernandez
Associate Editor
The Straits Times
Singapore Press Holdings

Mdm Moliah Hashim
Chief Executive Officer