NIE Celebrates The 10th Caring Teacher Awards

NIE Celebrates The 10th Caring Teacher Awards

Thursday, 10 April 2014


This year, the National Institute of Education (NIE), Singapore in partnership with ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd celebrates the 10th cycle of the Caring Teacher Awards (CTA) 2014 Presentation Ceremony on Thursday, 10 April 2014.

Supported by the Ministry of Education, this well-recognised accolade in Singapore’s teaching annals garnered a total participation from 248 schoolsMore than 1,100nominations for this year’s selection were received from the participating schools. Amongst them, 4 National Award and 8 National Commendation Award finalists were selected for their most outstanding commitment toward the holistic development of students. Besides being ardent educators, they are regarded as nurturers, inspiring individuals and mentors who demonstrate integrity, passion, innovation and dedication.

Guest-of-Honour, Mr Hawazi Daipi, Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Manpower will present the Awards to 12 teachers comprising of 4 primary, 5 secondary and 3 junior college educators at the Ngee Ann Auditorium in Asian Civilisations Museum.

To acknowledge the 10th biennial ceremony since its inception in 1996, NIE Singapore and ExxonMobil Asia Pacific will launch the CTA Commemorative Book which pays tribute to 35 past CTA winners in addition to the 2014 winners. The 150-page coffee-table compendium, which will be distributed to guests during the award ceremony on 10 April 2014, chronicles these teachers’ lifework, heart-warming stories and poignant quotes that date back to almost two decades.

Nominations for this year’s CTA were reviewed by the CTA Organising Committee and the finalists were interviewed by Chairman of the CTA 2014 Organising Committee, Dr Nicholas Aplin from NIE Singapore, and his co-judges – Miss Daena Tan, Community Relations Advisor, ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd; Professor Leo Tan, Director (Special Projects), Faculty of Science, National University of Singapore; Mr Mike Thiruman, President, Singapore Teachers’ Union; and Mr Clarence Tang, Director, HR Solutions and Capabilities, Ministry of Education.


CTA is jointly organised by the National Institute of Education (NIE), Singapore and ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd, with support from the Ministry of Education, Singapore. First given out in 1996, it is aimed at acknowledging and rewarding local school teachers who, through their daily deeds and actions, exemplify the values of caring, sharing and concern for the academic, moral, social, emotional and mental welfare of their students.

There are two categories for the awards – they comprise the National Level and School Level nominations. School Level winners are picked by schools. From the School Level winners, the CTA Organising Committee selects finalists for the National Level Awards. One teacher each from a primary school, secondary school and junior college or centralised institute will subsequently be picked as National Level winners. This year, two teachers will receive the Caring Teacher Award in the National Level secondary school category.

For the programme and list of CTA winners, please refer to Annexes A and Annexe B respectively.

About ExxonMobil in Singapore

ExxonMobil is one of Singapore’s largest foreign manufacturing investors with fixed asset investments of over US$10 billion. Our Singapore affiliate, ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd, (EMAPPL) has manufacturing facilities which include refinery operations in Jurong and a world-scale petrochemical plant on Jurong Island.

EMAPPL has Singapore’s largest network of Esso service stations and is a major supplier of cylinder cooking gas. EMAPPL also serves the commercial market with its industrial, aviation and marine fuels and lubricants. As a corporation, ExxonMobil is committed to addressing the challenge of sustainability – balancing economic growth, social development and environmental protection. In line with those strategies, ExxonMobil and EMAPPL contribute to programmes in Singapore that support the arts and education, the community and the environment.

For more information, please visit:



3.00 PM                  
Welcome Address by Professor Lee Sing Kong, NIE Director, National Institute of Education, Singapore
Address by Mr Matthew J. Aguiar, Chairman and Managing Director, ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd
Guest-of-Honour Address by Mr Hawazi Daipi, Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Manpower

3.15 PM     
Awards Presentation Ceremony
Guest-of-Honour takes group photo with all CTA2014 Winners 

3.40 PM          

4.30 PM          


10 April 2014

Channel NewsAsia (Online)Caring teachers recognised at NIE awards ceremony

Suria, News at 8:00 pmCaring Teacher Awards 2014

11 April 2014

The Straits Times (Home, Page B9)Teacher who rescued suicidal pupil honoured

Berita Harian (Page 2)4 teachers awarded the Caring Teacher Award

TODAY (Online)Award-winning teacher shows her care beyond the classroom

Tamil Murasu (Page 2)'Caring Teacher Award' for four teachers