NIE Celebrates The 11th Caring Teacher Awards 2016

NIE Celebrates The 11th Caring Teacher Awards 2016

Thursday, 31 March 2016


Celebrating the teaching spirit, the National Institute of Education (NIE), Singapore in partnership with ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd, is holding its 11th Caring Teacher Awards (CTA) 2016 Presentation Ceremony on Thursday, 31 March 2016.

Supported by the Ministry of Education, this well-recognised accolade in Singapore’s teaching annals garnered a total participation from 234 schools amongst more than 360 schools in Singapore. More than 1,100 nominations for this year’s selection were received and amongst them, four National Award and 10 National Commendation Award winners were selected for their outstanding commitment to the holistic development of students.

Guest-of-Honour, Associate Professor Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Social and Family Development, will present the Awards to 14 teachers comprising seven Primary, five Secondary and two Junior College educators at the Genexis Theatre in Fusionopolis.  


First given out in 1996, it is aimed at acknowledging and rewarding local school teachers who through their daily deeds and actions, exemplify the values of caring, sharing and concern for the academic, moral, social, emotional and mental welfare of their students.

Schools are invited to submit up to five nominations. Of these, a preliminary round is conducted to shortlist outstanding candidates for the National Level. Thereafter, the shortlisted National Level Nominees are invited to meet an external panel of judges who will select the National Award winners. The remaining nominees are recognised as National Commendation Award winners. All nominees are highly regarded by the local schools community as nurturers, inspiring individuals and mentors.

Nominations for this year’s CTA were reviewed by the CTA Organising Committee. National Level Nominees were interviewed by Chairman of the CTA 2016 Organising Committee, Dr Nicholas Aplin from NIE Singapore, and his co-judges – Ms Karen Wong, Media and Community Relations Manager, Singapore Public and Government Affairs, ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd; Ms Tuminah Sapawi, Chief Executive Officer, Yayasan Mendaki; and Mr Mike Thiruman, President, Singapore Teachers’ Union.

For the programme, list of CTA winners and synopses of outstanding recipients, please refer to Annexe A, Annexe B and Annexe C respectively


31 March 2016

Channel NewsAsia (TV): Coverage of Caring Teacher Awards

Channel 8 (TV): Coverage of Caring Teacher Awards

Suria (TV): Coverage of Caring Teacher Awards

Vasantham (TV): Coverage of Caring Teacher Awards

Channel NewsAsia (Online)14 recognised with Caring Teacher Awards

Today (Online)14 educators recognised for their commitment

1 April 2016

Today (Online)Educator makes classrooms more homely for students

Today (Online):  Teacher strives to build strong rapport with her pupils

The Straits Times, Home, Page B4Kind Teacher makes pupil's birthday wish come true

Lianhe Zaobao, Page 6This year's youngest Caring Teacher Award winner uses a Whatsapp group to bond with parents and students

Berita Harian, Page 3NIE recognises 14 teachers