NIE Celebrates The Caring Teacher Awards

NIE Celebrates The Caring Teacher Awards

Thursday, 05 April 2018


Celebrating the teaching spirit, the National Institute of Education (NIE), Singapore, supported by ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd and the Ministry of Education, holds its 12th Caring Teacher Awards (CTA) 2018 Presentation Ceremony on Thursday, 5 April 2018.

The well-recognised accolade in Singapore’s teaching annals garnered a total participation from 225 schools amongst more than 360 schools in Singapore. More than 3,700 nominations for this year’s selection were received and amongst them, three National Award and seven National Commendation Award winners were selected for their outstanding commitment to the holistic development of students.

Guest-of-Honour, Mr Ng Chee Meng, Minister for Education and Second Minister for Transport, will present the awards to 10 teachers comprising four Primary, four Secondary and two Junior College educators at the Yu Neng Primary School.     


First given out in 1996, it is aimed at acknowledging and rewarding local school teachers who through their daily deeds and actions, exemplify the values of caring, sharing and concern for the academic, moral, social, emotional and mental welfare of their students. Schools are invited to submit up to five nominations. Of these, a preliminary round is conducted to shortlist outstanding candidates for the National Level. Thereafter, the shortlisted National Level Nominees are invited to meet an external panel of judges who will select the National Award winners. The remaining nominees are recognised as National Commendation Award winners. All nominees are highly regarded by the local schools community as nurturers, inspiring individuals and mentors.


Aligned to the significant role that the teaching fraternity plays in Singapore, Mr Ng also officially launches NIE’s Visitor Learning Centre (NIEVLC) at the CTA 2018 presentation ceremony.

The first of its kind, the Centre encapsulates the significance of NIE’s contribution to the nation. From its early years as an Institute of Education to a global recognition of its education research and schools collaboration, the NIEVLC tells Singapore’s teacher education development story. In vivid detail, NIEVLC brings to life NIE’s legacy, future orientation and how it continues to chart milestones for Singapore’s education system. Through interactive animations, multimedia displays and more.

 Nominations for this year’s CTA were reviewed by the CTA Organising Committee. National Level Nominees were interviewed by:



Dr Nick Aplin


CTA Organising Committee

National Institute of Education, Singapore


Ms Karen Wong

Integrated Site P&GA Manager

Singapore Public and Government Affairs

ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd


Mr Clarence Tang

Divisional Director

Finance and Procurement

Ministry of Education


Mr Mike Thiruman

General Secretary

Singapore Teachers' Union


Ms Aidaroyani Adam

Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Yayasan Mendaki

For details about the programme, list of CTA winners, synopses of outstanding recipients and on the NIEVLC, please refer to Annexes A, B, C and D, respectively.


6 April 2018

The Straits Times (Online)10 Caring Teachers Rewarded for Going the Extra Mile

Lianhe Zaobao, Page 8:Physics teacher Emmanuel Chng Jun Liang wins Caring Teacher Award for giving students academic and emotional support