4 schools recognised for contributions to special needs education

4 schools recognised for contributions to special needs education

Tuesday, 01 November 2016

SINGAPORE: Four special education (SPED) schools and three teachers have been recognised for their outstanding contributions in educating students with special needs, said the Ministry of Education (MOE) and the National Council of Social Service (NCSS) on Monday (Oct 31). 

APSN Delta Senior School, Eden School, Metta School and Rainbow Centre - Yishun Park School were chosen out of 16 nominated schools to receive the MOE-NCSS Innovation Award, for their innovative and creative use of teaching strategies to engage students in their learning.

APSN Delta Senior School enhanced its transition curriculum for students aged 17 to 18 to bridge gaps in its Transition Programme (TP) for those who require customised pathways to access training and work options. 

Eden School developed a framework that enables students with autism to generalise skills learnt in both local and overseas settings, and develop better communication, social skills and adaptability, while Metta School's health and exercise curriculum aims to empower students with mild intellectual disabilities to take charge of their health and fitness. 

Meanwhile, Rainbow Centre - Yishun Park School implemented a school-wide literacy programme to help students function as independently and actively as possible in various environments. 

This is the eighth year that the awards are being presented.

Three teachers also received the MOE-NCSS Outstanding SPED Teacher Award for their "passion, dedication and commitment in providing a well-rounded education for students with special needs". 

They are APSN Katong School's Tay Wan Ting, AWWA School's Noriytah Sani and Grace Orchard School's Esther Kwan. The recipients were selected from 156 teachers nominated from 14 SPED schools.

Separately, two teachers will receive the 2016 MOE Masters Scholarship in Special Education, which is open to registered Singaporean SPED teachers who have served at least five years in SPED schools.

Noriasha Mohamed from AWWA School and Nur Faezah Abdul Rahman from Cerebral Palsy Alliance Singapore School will pursue their master's degrees in special education at the National Institute of Education. 

All MOE-NCSS and MOE Masters Scholarship award recipients will be acknowledged at the biennial SPED Conference next Friday, MOE said.

For full article, please visit here

Source: Channel NewsAsia, Mediacorp News Group © 2016