English in South-East Asia (ESEA) Conference

The English in Southeast Asia (ESEA) Conference series began in 1996 as a collaboration between NIE, NTU (Singapore), Universiti Malaya and UBD. Since then, the group of collaborating institutions has expanded to become truly representative of Southeast Asia:

  • National Institute of Education (Singapore)

  • University of Malaya (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)

  • Universiti Brunei Darussalam

  • Curtin University (Perth, Australia)

  • Ateneo de Manila University (Quezon City, the Philippines)

  • Hong Kong Baptist University

  • Sanata Dharma University (Yogyakarta, Indonesia)

  • King Mongkut’s University of Technology (Thonburi, Thailand)

  • Waikato University (New Zealand)

  • University of Macao (Macao)

  • Hangzhou Normal University (Hangzhou, China)


2017: The 19th ESEA Conference
Venue: King Monkut's University of Technology, Thonburi, Thailand.
Theme: Doing Research in Applied Linguistics

2015: The 18th ESEA Conference
Venue: Univerisiti Brunei Darussalaam.
Theme: Interactions of English and other languages in Southeast Asia

2013: The 17th ESEA Conference
Venue: University of Malaya
Theme: English in the National, Regional and Global Context

2011: The 16th ESEA Conference
Venue: Sanata Dharma University, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Theme: English for People Empowerment

2010: The 15th ESEA Conference
Venue: University of Macau
Theme: Our Diverse Communities

2009: The 14th ESEA Conference
Venue: Ateneo de Manila University, the Philippines
Theme: English Changing: Implications for policy, teaching, and research

2008: The 13th ESEA Conference
Venue: National Institute of Education, Singapore
Theme: Englishes and Literatures-in-English in a Globalised World

2007: The 12th ESEA Conference
Venue: King Monkut's University of Technology, Thonburi, Thailand.
Theme: Trends and Directions