Student Clubs

The Nanyang Technological University Students' Union (NTUSU) is the supreme body of students in NTU (including NIE). Membership of the NTUSU is automatic for the following categories of student teachers in NIE:

  • Matriculated student teachers who are reading a full-time undergraduate course of study leading to a Bachelor's degree;

  • Student teachers not holding a Bachelor's degree who are reading a full-time course of study leading to a diploma, the duration of which is not less than two academic years;

  • Graduate student teachers pursuing a full-time course of study leading to the Postgraduate Diploma in Education, the duration of which is either one academic year or, in the case of a candidate specialising in Physical Education, two academic years.

The NTUSU consists of 16 constituent bodies, of which the Trainee Teachers' Club is one. Only student teachers who are members of the NTUSU are eligible for full membership of the Trainee Teachers' Club.

Student teachers of NIE other than those defined under ordinary membership and students from other schools in NTU may apply for affiliate membership subject to the approval of the Management Committee and recommendation of the Advisor of the Club.

The main role of the Trainee Teachers' Club is to promote and safeguard the interests and welfare of student teachers in NIE. The Trainee Teachers' Club comprises 8 sub-clubs:

Together with its sub-clubs, the Trainee Teachers' Club organises a range of social, sports, cultural and educational activities for student teachers.

The administration of the Trainee Teachers' Club is vested in the hands of an elected Management Committee. The elections are held annually. The Committee members hold office from the date of election until the next occasion upon which a new Committee is elected.

The Club's Management Committee operates with the advice and guidance of two Club Advisors. Director NIE is the Chief Advisor whilst an academic staff from NIE is appointed to be the Second Advisor.